Humans of IG – Dan Favalaro

Feb 1, 2022 | IG Blog Posts

What/where do you consider your hometown?

I grew up in Burlington, Ontario and lived in the same house for 26 years, I just recently moved to Millgrove, Ontario.

Do you have a talent, hobby or skill people wouldn’t expect? If so, do tell!

I don’t have any special talents or skills but for a hobby I enjoy building my car and taking it out to events around the GTA and spending time with other members of the car community here in Ontario. I do most of the work on my car, I like to pride myself on being able to figure out how each part of my vehicle works.  I originally planned to go to school for autobody to get into the field, but decided I wanted to take a different artistic route and keep my hobby a hobby rather than a job.

What brings you joy? When are you happiest?

This is actually a very hard question for me, I tend to not think about what makes me happy or what brings me joy. I like to live in the moment and live every day differently. As many of the IG staff know, I have a couple sayings like “Ain’t nothing changed but the weather.” Happiness to me is being able to spend time with the people I care about, spending time working on, and driving, my vehicles (I absolutely love to just take my car and drive down a nice country road with the windows down music blaring and not a care in the world).

Is there one experience in your life that really changed you or shaped who you are and made you think differently?

I would have to say the most important experience in my life that really changed the direction I was heading would have to be when I was rear ended at a red light by a garbage truck. I was working as a labourer when this happened and after the accident it did not allow me to do my job as well as I should have been able to. I decided it was time to go back to school at 23 years old to start my career as a graphic designer. If it was not for that accident I would not have been able to work for such a great company like IG and pursue my goals of becoming a graphic designer. I had originally gone to school in 2014 for graphic design, but soon realized I needed to work and pay for bills etc., so I dropped out and started working full time.

If there was a theme song to your life, what would it be?

Macho Man by the village people haha. When I was a kid I played rep baseball, before almost every game I would spend time at my grandmothers house and she would always make my brother and I nachos when we were there. My team had found out about this so everytime I would walk up to the plate to take my turn at bat they would chant “Nacho, Nacho man.” It was always a great time and made me laugh a bit.

Who in your life has had the biggest impact?

The person in my life who has had the biggest impact would have to be my father. He has always strived to provide our family with the best of the best. When my brother and I were children he traveled a lot for work but he always promised my mother that he would never miss birthdays, holidays, anniversaries or any kind of special event. To this day he has yet to miss one. One day when my fiance and I have a family of our own, I hope I can provide the same opportunities for them that my parents have provided for me.

If you had a day off to spend any way you wish, what would you do and why?

If I had a day off to spend any way I wish, I would probably do something very simple, maybe just a nice little date night with my fiance, a nice dinner and movie then go to our favourite spot in Burlington for milkshakes.

When do you feel the most content? (Please describe)

I feel most content when I am sitting behind my screen working away on designs. I get lost in my work sometimes and before I know it I have spent six hours working on something for a client because I just keep finding cool new ideas to incorporate into my work.